Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

traffic jams

ice crystals on the driveway

My young trees would be eaten to the ground if we had more snow and colder temperatures.

Deer prints along juvenile trees

A culprit I'm always glad to see.

I love the stories the tracks in the snow tell. There’s hardly been any accumulating snow this winter, very unusual for being in a lake effect snow belt east of Lake Michigan. Feel free to click and enlarge the stories below.

The first day after fresh snow fall.

The second day after the fresh snow fall.

I made my own “carcass” to attract a little January excitement. I’m hoping to see a coyote. There’s nothing like a little wild life to spruce up a dark January in Michigan. My husband and I went camping most weekends while we were dating. I took advantage of living in non-bear country by throwing a little meat outside our tent for kicks. He never was a fan of my camping antics.

Ed Skeba will decide if this is a coyote or dog print.

When the snow is deeper white-tailed deer prints have long drag marks connecting their hoof prints.

white-tailed deer print

2 responses

  1. JLo

    I’m so excited to see how your carcass works out for you!! I can’t believe all the traffic that you already get to begin with….if I could get Ed Skeba off the ice he could tell you what that one is…

    January 9, 2011 at 8:31 am

    • melissakoski

      My only daytime vistors to the carcass are a couple of crows, but things always pick up during school hours so maybe more excitement this next week.

      January 9, 2011 at 9:57 am

thoughts?

