Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Mourning a loss…..

I found the best treasure ever this past week- a deer hoof with a thermometer attached. I tried to sell my hubby into buying it by showcasing the ring making it, “ready to hang”. He said it was heinous. I was hoping to hang it in the front hall to give some local bunco parties some ammo. When I was young I had a green velvet jewelry box and the only thing I ever kept in the box was a deer hoof with enough tendon to pull and make the hoof wave. I don’t have the hoof thermometer and am mourning the loss…..

Northern Pearly-Eye. **Butterflies and moths have some cheesey-ass names.

soft monarch chrysalis

monarch chrysalis

Another cone flower I'm babysitting for Jodi.

Tiger Swallowtail

Monarch freshly freed

bird house?

2 responses

  1. hve

    Melissa – you are cracking me up :) If I ever see a deer hoof thermometer, I am definitely picking it up for you! These pictures, however, are so beautiful. Thanks for posting them!

    August 2, 2010 at 10:06 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Helen!

      August 2, 2010 at 9:19 pm

thoughts?

