Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Bare breasts

Picture courtesy of Bill Hilton Jr.. A Robin's broodpatch

Who knew? Robins have a bare spot on their breast to heat their eggs. It looks kind of gross. I was near a robin’s nest with three fledglings and an aggressive mother all day today, but the wind never exposed the mother’s broodpatch. I was really hoping to catch sight of the patch and see the grossness live, but no free show today.

A nest of fledglings in downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan

Robin

3 responses

  1. J Lo

    I bet the GR birds had nothin’ on the Ada birds!! Very cool info. Thanks.

    May 4, 2010 at 7:06 am

  2. Anonymous

    I was scared walking up the porch. I felt like Elaine on Seinfeld when a bird flew in her head

    May 4, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    • melissakoski

      Jon, They were more aggressive today! I was scared taking the pictures with them diving at me, but then laughed at myself thinking about people taking pictures/filming animals in the wild…. there’s something scary.

      May 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm

thoughts?

