Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Stripped down

Something stole all my suet feeders. I bet if I moved our backyard shed I’d see about 20 old suet cages.

When things break or disappear in Michigan it’s very fashionable to improvise. So in salute to my state I threw a suet cake on the deck railing. What a hit. Everyone’s desperate for easy food.

I spent a half hour watching these birds enjoy their suet stripped down.

But I did miss a chipping sparrow and chickadee snacking during a laundry swap. Stupid laundry.

Red-breasted Woodpecker

Eastern Bluebird

Cardinal

Blue Jay

Red-winged Blackbird

Downy Woodpecker

Nuthatch

3 responses

  1. hve

    Those are great pictures!!

    May 1, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Helen. I’m working on my time stamp for blip!

      May 1, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  2. stacy

    I love that your classifying the birds~I never know the names of them~great blog!

    May 4, 2010 at 5:21 pm

thoughts?

