Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Some of the neighborhood Moms are vicious b*&ches

empty robin egg


scuffed robin eggs

This morning I looked out the window and saw my suet feeder knocked to the ground and empty…again. It happens almost every other day during April. Normally I don’t mind the suet loss, knowing the fatty treat is going to a pregnant racoon. She has the most gorgeous silky fur thanks to all the suet she scarfs down and I’m sure her breast milk is out of this world rich.

I spotted a robin egg on the ground below a small pine on my way to refill the suet. It had a few scratches on the shell and punctures and was empty…. very empty. Something had eaten this egg. Where was the nest? My curiosity scared the mother off her nest and I saw the remaining two eggs also had some scratches.

Now last year something ate the baby robins the day they hatched and the new nest is right next to last year’s. This year I had higher hopes for the young robins. I’m not sure who the b*&tch is that is picking on the robin, but am guessing it’s the fat racoon eating bird seed on my porch roof .

5 responses

  1. oh no :( how sad!

    April 22, 2010 at 11:42 am

    • melissakoski

      Melanie, I sprinkled cayanne pepper all around the tree in the hopes of deterring the pradator (: So far so good!

      April 22, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  2. J Lo

    This is where a trail cam would come in handy.

    April 22, 2010 at 11:59 am

    • melissakoski

      I actually thought that would be a cool solution until I remembered my trail cam has no night vision. I think Stan’s has night vision though. Maybe I’ll have to borrow it.

      April 22, 2010 at 3:37 pm

  3. Audrey Partak

    You could start your own detective agency. Sounds like you have a pretty good head start. LOL

    April 22, 2010 at 3:22 pm

thoughts?

