Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Chickadees everywhere

A chickadee taking a break from building a nest in a bird house my Dad made.

When I check on a nest I go through a routine so that I don’t startle the bird sitting on the nest and to make sure I don’t get my eyes pecked out. So far so good.

Chickadees are one of the friendliest birds and usually sit closely while I load the feeders. The rest of the birds scatter. Turns out they’re friendly when they’re sitting on their nests too. I looked in the nest box and a chickadee just stared up at me. It didn’t move from the nest… a little scary, but in a good exciting kind of way. It didn’t even come close to pecking my eyes out.

thoughts?

